‘Twas a Clutter-free Christmas

‘Twas the week before Christmas and throughout the house,
All ’round clutter abounded without many doubts.
There were papers on tables, receipts on the floor,
It made me plum crazy, couldn’t take any more!

The children had piled up their jackets and socks,
Just to run off to play with their trains and their blocks.
My husband and I, sadly complicit, too,
Had been walking away from my purse and his shoes.

Now then school was dismissed, our work loads were shifted.
The time was now here for these piles to be sifted!
I surveyed the big mess, my heart sank in my chest.
“There’s too much!” I confessed. “This stuff’s making me stressed!”

Now Rina! Now Bella! Now Teddy and Richard!
We can’t let these stuff piles grow up and get bigger!
Clean dishes, sort papers, report cards and projects,
Fold laundry, then stow it, don’t have to be perfect!

Collect it, and stash it, and clean all the corners!
Recycle, or trash it, no time for disorder!
Christmas is coming, it’s a time for good cheer!
“No you can’t simply move that from there to right here!”

The stuff piles were growing now smaller and smaller.
No more did I fear that the bell was a caller.
Now our friends could come over, not breaking their legs
Tripping o’er errant Legos, and dollies, and trains.

Come celebrate Christmas, sip coffee and chat.
Don’t need fancy jackets, or ties, or new hats.
Our house it is cozy, the corners fresh dusted,
but it still isn’t spotless, now that can be trusted!

So long, panicked cleaning, and sorting and such,
It seems all that was needed was a firm human touch
‘Til next year we bid you a not fond, “Farewell!”
Merry Christmas, to all, think I’ll rest for a spell.

One thought on “‘Twas a Clutter-free Christmas

Leave a Reply

