Make ahead meal-stravaganza

I recently decided to jump on the freezer meal train and planned to make a few recipes to try it out. As with many of my pursuits, I over-planned and quickly overwhelmed myself and my schedule! I made Baked Ziti, Lasagna, and Spinach & Cheese Enchiladas. I made Veggie-loaded Soup, White Bean Veggie Soup, and Chili. I froze 3 dozen cookies and 2 pans of Apple Blueberry Crisp. I had planned to also make a dozen breakfast burritos and a dozen black bean veggie burritos, but decided at the last minute to just make them and eat them during the week because I was DONE with cooking!

Make Ahead Meal Bounty

Just some of my make ahead bounty!

This cooking marathon yielded 3 pans of lasagna, 3 pans of ziti, 2 pans of enchiladas, 5 gallons of soup, and desserts that we can pull out and throw in the oven for an hour and a half at 350F and put dinner on the table.

Let’s face it, we all need dinner rescue from time to time. While an hour to an hour and a half is a good chunk of time, all the prep work is done, and if I remember to thaw the meal in the fridge first, it cuts the bake time roughly in half.

Below I have attached the full recipes, and shopping list (which is only useful if you plan to make all the recipes). The square pans without lids I bought at Walmart, the round pans come with lids and I bought them at 3for$1 at Dollar Tree. I like the rounds because the lids are sturdy for stacking, but there are some things–enchiladas–that just go better in square pans. The soups are in gallon freezer bags, and the cookies went 6 to a bag which is perfect for portion control.

Planning ahead, now that’s ReFreshing!

Make Ahead Meal Day

Make Ahead Meal Day Shopping List

Leave a Reply

