Transitions

So my life is full of transitions right now. My maternal grandparents are moving in to the rest home. I am weaning my third (and final) baby. My husband who has been a stay-at-home dad for the past 7 years is going back to school and working half-time.

All of these transitions are bittersweet. We celebrate that my grandparents were able to live independently for 95 years, what a milestone and victory! But it is sad to pack away and divide the contents of their apartment, surrendering to the fact that this is one more step toward end of life. They will receive some much-needed support and care from excellent care-givers, but they will lose some of their independence as they give up their car and begin to live by someone else’s schedule. 

Weaning my baby is just hard. He is 18 months and is perfectly capable of eating and drinking big people food. But the nurturing that takes place with breast-feeding cannot be measured in caloric intake. I am so sad and so happy to be saying good bye to this stage of motherhood. I will gain independence and the ability to travel apart from my children, and hopefully begin to sleep through the night again. 

I have been super excited and so proud of my husband’s re-entry into the career world. He earned all A’s in his first semester of classes pursuing a master’s degree in information management and library science. This is a first for him in all of his years of education! But this is a difficult transition for me as well. I face many challenges as a woman in my field. My husband has always supported me, but because being a woman in ministry is not universally supported (to put it mildly) there have always been nagging doubts in the back of my head that someday he would change his mind and insist that our family life revolve around him and his career. These are fear gremlins that have no place in reality, but they produce a creeping insecurity that makes it difficult to fully embrace this new part of our lives, especially when his schedule conflicts with mine or we have to negotiate childcare and other factors of daily life. 

Fear, I have come to realize, is a natural part of facing transition. What we know now is safe and we have survived the challenges of our current circumstances. We know how to negotiate the pitfalls and find the joys in our present location. What lies on the other side of a transition is unknown. We don’t know what the future will bring. And that is SCARY! But there are rewards for moving forward and there are opportunities we will miss if we stubbornly refuse to let go of our comfort. 

Putting one foot in front of the other, then, I must step out into the new adventure that awaits! Join me in embracing the transitions of life, choosing to set aside fear and trust that whatever challenges may come we are strong enough to face them head-on.

This is the road to Refreshing Life!

2 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. After close to 10 years of Full time ministry, wife and mother. I am gong through that exact transition you fear. Has it been easy? No but nothing is better than knowing and doing the will of our Father in Heaven! And that gives me so much Joy! I know you know this. But just want you to know. Do not fear. P. S. Love the Blog! Keep writing!

    • Love you tons, Toni Brown! I heard through the grapevine that you were making a transition. I hope you can find all the contentment you need in trusting the Lord’s timing and grace! Call/message me if you ever need to talk!

Leave a Reply

